Canceling my AT&T Plan – Keeping the iPhone

22 10 2008

On Friday, before I left the states I canceled my AT&T plan, which I signed up for to get an iPhone. I called customer support and told them I was leaving the country and I no longer needed the plan. I was told that since I was within 30 days of activation that I did not need to pay the early termination fee of $175, which I was pleasantly surprised to hear. I then went ahead and paid my bill and I was done. There was no mention of returning the phone or paying a fee. Pretty sweet deal.

Here is what I did:

  1. Signed up for a new contract with AT&T.
  2. Got a Turbo Sim to unlock the iPhone.
  3. Canceled the plan.
  4. Kept the iPhone and enjoy.

-Aryeh

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

Actions

Information

3 responses

22 10 2008
clintthewookie

ooooooooo… Bad Person!

(I should so do this! Congratulations on ripping off AT&T!)

22 10 2008
Aryeh

All my actions were legal and I didn’t even lie 😉 Try it and stick it to the man

22 10 2008
Fredo

Nice man =) I should have thought about that while I was there =(

Leave a Reply

